Put your money where your mouth is

A few weeks back I ended my first group test cycle on our Caliber program. The test group followed a three on, one off, two on, one off work schedule. In the six weeks they followed it they alternated between two heavy lift days consisting of squats on a RVT (Russian volume Training) model. And a linear progression on the deadlift and a day of RVT front squats. The lift days took place on Wednesdays and Saturdays with metabolic conditioning taking up the other days. The results were even better then I hoped for. I will be profiling some of the athletes gains that came from this in the coming weeks.

Below are the stats and a small testimonial from one such athlete. He has been in our gym for awhile now following a standard Crossfit GPP (General physical preparation) program. When approached about the strength Cycle, his goals were to get stronger and put on weight. He not only met both those goals but also found himself becoming a member of the gyms BarBell Club (not a easy task, there may have been a cheer leading costume involved). He wasn’t the only one to meet his goals. I will be profiling a female athlete next week who followed the EXACT same workout program (minus a lot of milk to help in the males athletes diet) and got stronger and gained muscle while lossing fat and leaning out.

All these athletes met goals of fat loss, muscle gain, faster run times, more pullups, better workout times, all while following a heavy strength based Cycle.

Athlete 1: Graham Kent

Bodyweight:

Old: 172lbs

New: 185lbs

Squat:

Old: 285lbs

New: 315lbs (335 is next goal)

Power Clean:

Old: 155lbs

New: 185lbs

Fran: 21-15-9 thruster 95lbs/pullups

Old: 7:59

New: 5:37

Grace: 30 Clean and jerks for time 135lbs

Old: 7:49

New: 2:51

“My thoughts on the Cycle is that I have never experienced such dramatic strength gains in such a short period, let alone ever in my life. Mentally, to know I can do multiple sets AND reps around 95% of my one rep max on squats and to know I can deadlift heavy weight for reps is HUGE. To knock 5 MINUTES off my Grace and 2:30 off my Fran was insane, but to squat 3 wheels and have it feel pretty easy when I could barely properly squat 205 at our first total sums up how effective your program is. I fukin PR’d during warmup for my squat at our recent total, that was the shit! The almost 15 pounds I have gained in 7 weeks is pretty fucking sweet too.

I felt like the coaching was right on the entire time and I never did anything that I didn’t feel prepared for. I definitely felt the program really pushed you to improve and you had to really want to do it, it was not easy and that’s the way it should be. I loved every day of it.”

Posted by: Z

4 Responses to “Put your money where your mouth is”

  1. Grambo, nice job. Those are some *impressive* gains!

  2. And if you call right now I will share these awesome training secrets with you for only $59.99. That’s right, $59.99! You will learn how to train OLD COUNTRY STRONG! And if you call within the next 35 minutes you will also receive your own smelling salts. Yes with the program and your own smelling salts you are just chalk away from becoming a barbell club prospect. SO ORDER NOW!

    You want more, how about this testimonial.

    “I remember seeing Zach at the qualifier this year and thinking how good of athlete he was. I was convinced he was hitting his peak. Now I saw him 2 weeks ago and he is talking about how he has been on this new Caliber cycle and how he is hitting all these new these PRs and while listening to him I am looking at him and thinking to myself, is this the same guy I saw not too long ago? I am not saying anything but aren’t they testing at this qualifiers now?”
    Anonymous

    Thats right, this program is so effective your competitors will think you are using PEDS. WRONG!

    Pant….pant…..pant

    What? You can watch the videos online? There is a blog? YOU STILL NEED MORE! Alright I will throw in 4 weekend passes to the local banya.

    Operators are standing by, order now.

  3. NoBullBodacious Says:

    Awesome, Graham!!!
    Although training with you, I could see all those increases happening each week! Nice to see all the stats written down in front of you to really get a grasp of your improvements.
    Great programming. Great efforts in the gym. Great results.

  4. If I gain another 15 pounds I’ll be considered a useful male, man I’d be pretty beefy at 200! Nice write-up Z, although, I heard that guy featured above is kind of a dick.

Leave a Reply

