“I’ll take a Side of Bacon and Gravy…”

Old Country spent this last weekend over the border. Part of the crew went up to Vancouver, Canada to Pure Athletics for one of our Iron 101 seminars. We spent Saturday showing 20 plus people the Iron Club style of Kettlebelling. Teaching people new styles of lifting is always fun. But honestly the best part of Iron Club road trips are the shenagins that always ensue.

So, lets dicuss what you may not know but I learned in Canada, About Canada…

In Canada referring to “How we do it down in North America” is the best way to describe the States.

Sending Blake to the bar is alway entertaining.
“I’ll have 4 Jack Daniels.”
“We’re all out of Jack Daniels.”
“Uh so what do you have?”
“Canadian Rum.”
“What? Is that made from Maple Syrup or Somethen?”
No Bullshit….

They serve EVERYTHING with bacon and gravy in Canada. Including something called poutine. The Canadanians will laugh and tell you to order it. Poutine is pretty much a bowl of fries filled with cheese and Gravy. On further discussion we decided it’s really just something they use to bait traps for drunk Americans.

In Canada the local “hardcore shot” is a Grenade. Two shot glasses are stacked in the rim of a glass. One glass is the “pin,” you pull the pin the other glass drops you shoot the pin then slam the other glass. It was pretty sweet. It was so sweet we had 2 and decide to introduce our Canadian friends to our local hardcore shot; Norweign Sailors, those went over huge.

A “Road Soda’ in Canada is actually called a “Road Pop” and ridding a motor cycle is “Motor biking.”

If you think I’m exaggerating these guys are Canadian…

Oh and I don’t know if you know this but Lululemon is huge in Canada…

Thanks for having us guys it was a lot of fun can’t wait to do it again.

Posted by: Z

8 Responses to ““I’ll take a Side of Bacon and Gravy…””

  1. That video left me speechless. Mostly because that’s how we ate all weekend…..

    First off on behalf of everyone who attended the 101, I’d again like to thank you for coming up north. It was finally great to meet you guys, and very much enjoyed your seminar.

    For everyone who trains at Westside, you really are lucky to have such a knowledgeable and dedicated coach.

    Huge shout out to Roo, who was put on the spot by Z and performed her 30 rep, single arm KBC with 44’s for the first time. She rocked it like it was nothing. Boo Yah!

    Having Blake up as well was a major bonus. His skills and knowledge, complimented Zach’s coaching as he walked around tweaking everyone’s form and technique. (Same to be said for Roo too. The extra coaching was awesome)

    I’m definitely smarter now, and safer around the bells. Let’s just see if I can actually remember anything from the course. Not gonna lie, I lost a lot of brain cells last night. I also have no idea if I have muscle soreness or not, because the sharp piercing pain in my right eye, currently masks any pain or injury I may have right now…….

    You gotta admit the Honey Bacon rimmed Ceaser with Horseradish sound like a good idea at 1 AM!! Blame it on the Palinka!

    Thanks again Zach, Marissa, and Blake.

  2. Hey JP thanks for being such a great host. We had a great time and look forward to having the North Vancouver crew down for pipe hitters.

  3. Agree with Blake, thank you sooooo much J.P. For being such a great host! We really appreciate it 🙂

  4. Norwegian sailors always go over huge. Especially in Canada.

  5. FYI – Use your non-shooting hand for lime removal.

  6. Z – I’d just like you to know that my Pipehitters registration only cost my $34 because your lame, boring green money isn’t worth balls right now.

    Blake get at me re: the accomodations you were mentioning on the weekend.

    So jacked to come down and get my ass handed to me in this thing!

  7. My nephew saw me counting my canadian money from the weekend and told me “You must be really good monopoly Uncle Zach.”

    Stoke to have you coming down boss!

Leave a Reply

