“On this Side or the Other…”

I try not to date myself on here. Honestly sometimes Coaching isn’t an easy job. It’s even harder when people are older than you, sometimes 10 or more years your senior. Sometimes they have even been in your field longer then you. So you can imagine age sometimes is a factor in getting people to listen to you. But sometimes I need to break my own mold.

My name is Zach filer. I am 27 years old and at 8:45 September 11th, 2001, I was 17.

I could tell you where I was when I first heard, bed, my Mom came in and told me.

I could tell you how many times I fought back tears at school hearing the reports come in class after class. People had called their wives and husbands from planes and buildings.

I could tell you I prayed for everyone that day.

But I don’t want to ramble to long, I could type this post for days and not do justice to what I want to say.

I was 17 years old, all my friends were 17. This was one of the defining moments of my generation. I attended a private “college prep” High School. Which pretty much ment if you weren’t actually going to college you were going into the service.

I had more friends for go college to enter the service because of that day then I can count. And I’m very proud of them.

I’m proud. I’m proud we had men and women that ran in when they should have run out that day. I’m proud we had men and women stand against evil. I’m proud of all my friends that decided to enlist after that day. I can never truly thank those friends  that came back for what they did. And I will never forget those that didn’t.

I was 17 on September 11th, We will Never Forget…

Posted by: Z

5 Responses to ““On this Side or the Other…””

  1. It was a truly horrible day.

    As to your first paragraph…

    Respect:

    My name is Ron Hood, I am 44 years old and I have been teaching people how to exercise since I was 14. I came to West Seattle Crossfit to checkout this new trend in my field and test it’s merits; all good and well.
    Amid all the machismo and bluster of a balls out gym, I found a coach with passion for what he does and a real commitment to his people. That is rare in any walk of life. After a few decades in this field you can get jaded by the parade the charlatans and posers, and it is a genuine surprise to find such a person. Age is not an issue if someone has the knowledge and drive to help help move people forward it doesn’t matter how old they are. Sometimes there are bumps on the road and spikes in the learning curve, but passion and commitment are very hard to come by. In Zach we have such a coach and the more I have gotten to know him the more I respect him and age never enters my brain when he is screaming at me… “Asshole” does, but age never.
    Respect.

  2. Thanks Z for this great meditation on 9/11.

  3. Brooke Best Says:

    Thank you Zach for your reflections on this very sorrowful 10-year anniversary. I remember you were only 17. What a horrible thing to confront at such an age, at any age. We were in lower Manhattan the day before 9/11 & planned to visit the twin towers w/our 4 year old. We didn’t, thinking “next time.” There is no next time. We had a dear friend who was a firefighter & one of the first responders. His life will never be the same. Many lost a lot more.
    You mother & father raised you well. You are (& always were) a super strong, sensitive & caring person. Let’s all hold onto that.

Leave a Reply

