“Is it True if You don’t use it, You lose it….”

Sometimes I just gotta put on my Coaches hat, hopefully this is one of those article my Ma chooses to avoid.(Click Here)

Todays post has to do with losing “It.”

If I had a nickel for every time I had been approached by an athlete in person, through email and or text(I wised up to that unlimited text plan as soon as I became a full time coach), about losing “It,” I’d be a very rich man.

The question really does come across to me as, “Is it True if you don’t use it, you lose “It?”

Well what is “It?”
“It” can never truly be nailed down. “It” is something different for every one. And what is causing “It” or what is making “It” worse can usually be one of a thousand things.

I don’t want to get it into the number of crazy “Its” I’ve heard in my time. But I have been very lucky as a former personal trainer to my now current position as a Coach, to have had some VERY interesting clients that have always kept me on my toes.

But funny stories aren’t “It” today. Today “It” has to do with your training. Now the “Why” that is causing the “It” to suffer is going to be different to everyone. Work, personal problems and injuries are things that plague us all. It’s how you respond to these “Whys” that defines you.

Now this is where I’ll defer from some of my post. I don’t feel like sitting at my computer tonight like Doogie Howser waiting for the moment where it all makes sense. (Click Here)

No today I’m gonna let my beard doing the talking like it does when I coach training sessions. (Click Here)

“So how do you respond to the “Whys” when it affects the “Its” Z?”

I’ve had this type of question enough times now that I’ve gotten the answer pretty well figured out. Again this is one Coaches thoughts. You may not like it. If you dont then I really dont fuckin care.(I’m sure my Ma is shaking her head).

When “It” happens, whatever “It” is you have gotta look inside yourself. I reference it out as Game, that fight bred inside of you, inside everyone. You gotta hold onto that shit.

Training is my life and career. I see what it does for people. It makes them strong, strong both physically and mentally. But as soon as shit starts to go wrong there are two people. Those that stand defiant and those that let the tide move them back. I have had plenty happen. Bad breakups, work fallouts, season ending injuries this shit happens. This list isn’t special to me. Pretty much every fucking person that chooses to make their training more then a hobby has had the same shit effect them at some point.

I broke my wrist last year. I denied it, made it worst and I’m still healing from it because of those choices. I use to be a great lifter now I’m just a good one. Have I lost “It?”

If that “It” your talking about is my numbers then yeah they slid. But do I still tell gravity to fuck itself and try and move that same weight I use too? Yes. Will I become that lifter again? Yes. Have I lost what I consider “It?” No.

Get out the worlds smallest Violin cause that isn’t the only thing thats happened to me. If I check the score card in my last official breakup the girl got the dog and the damn squat rack. Did I lose my desire to train then? Fuck No. Did I train harder and find my way through shit using training as my outlet. Yes. Did that tattoo on my leg help fix things, Nope, swing and a miss.

And work? Fucking work isn’t a cake walk for anyone. My good buddy Sky let me know that one day.

Sky – “What’s wrong with So and So?”
Z – “Works stressing them out.”
Sky – “They should join the Club who’s doesn’t”

Now I’m not saying your not gonna have bad days. I’m not saying shit isn’t gonna come down on you. Everyone responds in their own way. But you gotta find your Game and bring it to the table when you train. If training makes you happy don’t let the bullshit outside of it ruin it. Because if you do then what are you left with?

If you think your story might be different and make your reason different maybe your right. I might not know you. You might be reading this anywhere in the world and have your own set of problems. What I do know is how I want to approach life.

I want to look at it though eyes like Campbell.
If you havent seen a little movie called BraveHeart I guess you hate freedom and live under a rock. If you fit that despriction then…
1. This might be a spoiler alert
2. I don’t know why your wasting your time on this site
3. Slap yourself

So who’s Campbell?
He just the raging Scotsmen that got shot with an arrow and kept fighting only to later have his hand cut off and keep fighting. Last I check thats Game.
Hand? Who needs a fucking hand? Just strap a shield to my stump and give me a mace.

Did he lose “It?” Well yeah he lost his hand. Did that effect who he was before, yeah I’m sure it made life a bit more difficult.
Did he stop fighting?
Did he give up?
No he kept doing exactly what he was doing, Kicking ass without saying sorry.

Sometimes things are gonna weigh you down. Some of those things are out of your control. But it doesn’t mean you have to surrender shit to what ever the “Why” is. No matter what the weight is it’s not enough to pin you down. I never plan on being that lion that loses the fight in it’s eyes at the zoo. I’m gonna keep training through it all, I’m going to be that lion that paces against the cage constantly. Because I know it can’t truly keep me locked away.

If you don’t use it will you get rusty? Yeah. But you don’t lose Heart, if you do you never really had it to start.

Posted by: Z

2 Responses to ““Is it True if You don’t use it, You lose it….””

  1. Great post my friend. Next time you need to call me out maybe just shoot me a text?

  2. This is a very good article, Zach. I am proud of how you are not afraid to speak your mind. But, about the meatloaf… get it yourself.

Leave a Reply

