“Cause this kind of shit here sells itself”

Hollywood, you have put me in an awkward position. I do love what you have been giving me lately, I really do. You have been this fanboy by taking some of my favorite books and comics and making them come to life. I mean on the big screen this summer alone I have a new Spiderman movie, Avengers movie, Batman movie, GI Joe movie, and a new Superman movie. On TV you have given me the Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, and Fables (and let’s not even argue that Once Upon a Time is not a shameless rip off of the comic). I should be grateful, I really should be. And so it is with all due respect that I make this next comment…

WHY IN THE BLUE HELL HAVEN’T YOU MADE SCALPED YET?

Now I know you are all thinking “What is Scalped?”. Scalped is an ongoing comic book series published by Vertigo currently. Scalped is a gritty, crime noir set on the Prairie Rose Indian Reservation. It deals with Dashiell “Dash” Bad Horse and his return to the Reservation which he left and said he would never return to. Not interested yet. Ok, in the first five pages of issue 1 Dash states to an entire bar full of malo hombre “Which you motherfuckers is gonna be the first to cry Jesus?” before starting into them with nunchuks.

Oh, that got your attention. You see Dash is a badass on another level but he may not even be the baddest dude on the Reservation. The Reservation is run by Lincoln Red Crow, a mobster trying to save his people by any means neccesary. To imagine Red Crow take Clay from Sons of Anarchy and make him bigger and meaner. Still not enough Hollywood, did I forgot to mention that Dash is an undercover FBI agent sent in bring Red Crow. This show has so many layers you can’t screw it up!

I know you are saying that it is too dark and violent…ok that might be true as the series deals candidly with addiction and has violent scenes which makes shows like The Shield look tame. And yes it will be hard to cast the show but it’s a risk that should be taken. You didn’t think a show about zombies or scheming dwarves would make compelling TV either and we all know how that worked out.

I am considering this to be the start of my official petition to get Scapled on the air, Hollywood. Please don’t me  work too hard, just pick up the tradebacks and do yourself a favor.

Posted by Nickay

Leave a Reply

