“Are we clear?!”

You are all in for a treat. I was able to get the transcripts of the last meeting of NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell and New Orleans Head Coach Sean Payton concerning the allegations that his defensive coordinator Gregg Williams had in place a bounty system based off hurting opposing players. If these transcripts are accurate it may explain why Goodell suspended Payton for so long. Hope you enjoy this investigative reporting at it’s finest.

Goodell: So now onto the topic of bounties and Brett Farve in the NFC Championship Game. You heard rumors that your players were offering $10,000 to injure Brett Farve and take out of the game. And you are saying here today that you were opposed to that?

Payton: That is correct.

Goodell: And why is that?

Payton: Those type of hits are a danger.

Goodell: A grave danger?

Payton: Is there any other kind?

Goodell: And your defensive coordinator Gregg Williams was clear on what you wanted?

Payton: Crystal.

Goodell: Any chance Gregg Williams ignored the order?

Payton: (Left eyebrow lifted to indicate astonishment) Ignored the order?

Goodell: Any chance he… forgot about it?

Payton: (Confidently) No.

Goodell: Any chance Gregg Williams left your office and said “The old man is wrong?”

Payton: (Flatly) No.

Goodell: When Gregg Williams spoke to the defense, and ordered them not to injure Farve and take him out of the game, any chance they ignored him?

Payton: You ever play professional football, son?

Goodell: No, sir.

Payton: We follow rules, son. We follow rules or people die. It’s that simple. Are we clear?

Goodell: Yes, sir.

Payton: Are we clear?

Goodell: Crystal; sir I just have one more question before I bring Jonathan Vilma in….If you gave an order, that Brett Farve wasn’t to be purposefully injured, and your orders are always followed, then why all the late hits on Farve in the game?

Payton: (Silence)

Goodell: Coach? Those hits you said are a danger. I said grave danger? You said “is there any other kind?”

Payton: I know what I said.

Goodell: I can have the court reporter give back to you

Payton: I know what I said! I don’t need to have it read back to me like I’m some kind of-

Goodell: Then why all the late hits? Coach?

Payton: (Awkwardly) Sometimes men take matters into their own hands…

Goodell: No, sir. You made it clear just a moment ago that your men never take matters into their own hands; your men follow the rules or people die. So Farve shouldn’t have been in any danger at all, should he have, Coach?

Payton: You snotty little bastard.

Payton’s Lawyer: Your Honor, I would like to ask for a recess.

Goodell: I’d like an answer to the question.

Arbitrator: We will wait for an answer.

Goodell: If Gregg Williams gave an order that Brett Farve wasn’t to be injured on purpose, then why did he have to be transferred? Coach? Gregg Williams ordered the Bounties, didn’t he, because that’s what you told Gregg Williams to do.

Payton’s Lawyer: Objection!

Goodell: And when it went bad you cut him loose!

Payton’s Lawyer: Damn it, Goodell!

Goodell: And now I’m asking you Coach Payton, DID YOU ORDER THE BOUNTIES?!

Arbitrator: You don’t have to answer that question!

Payton: I’ll answer the question. You want answers?

Goodell: I think I’m entitled.

Payton: You want answers?!

Goodell: I want the truth!

Payton: You can’t handle the truth! Son, we live in a world that wants their offenses to score more touchdowns but still wants the defense to knock people out. Who’s gonna do it? You? I have a greater responsibility than you can possibly fathom! You weep for Farve and you curse the Saints. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know: that those hits on Farve, while tragic, made that game a classic. And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, makes this game great! You don’t want the truth, because deep down in places you don’t talk about at press conferences, you want my defenses trying to knock out players! You need my defenses trying to knock out players! We use words like “honor”, “code”, “loyalty”. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent playing this game. You use them as a punchline! I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very popularity my team provides, and then questions the manner in which I provide it! I would rather you just said “Thank you,” and went on your way. Otherwise, I suggest you put on some pads and lace up. Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you are entitled to!

Goodell: Did you order the Bounties?

Payton: I did the job that—-

Goodell: Did you order the Bounties?!

Payton: You’re goddamn right I did!!

Sometimes the Universe provides.

Posted by Nickay

One Response to ““Are we clear?!””

  1. bravo… nicely done, sir. 🙂

Leave a Reply

