“Chapter Four…”

From time to time I like to take a step back and look at things. I’m a Coach by trade you see and being able to exam the bigger picture is important.

I know it sounds glamourous and you know for some people it is. Big money, contracts, blah, blah, blah. You know some people get into Coaching with the goal of making money. Thats kinda funny to me. I’ve never really had the goal of “making money.”

Again some people would view this as stupid. A lot would even call it reckless. But there are the people that seek careers in life with the knowledge that they wont have nice things. They won’t go on vacations, be members of ritzy clubs and good forbid thinking of fancy clothes(I’m pretty happy with hoodys and shorts personally).

Now this isn’t some write up where I’m trying to spout off some working class hero stuff or anything like that. Because I wouldnt call my job blue collar and I’m not preaching. I’ve worked blue collar I know what that is. I don’t walk around like many people I know in other professions and claim that my job falls into a category it doesn’t. I work more hours then I can count and I’m proud of that. I’m proud of what I do and know it makes a difference in its own small way to people.

What this article is about is the Quest.
What does that even mean Zach?
Well I’ll tell ya.

Like I said at the start of this article some people do things for the money. Theres nothing wrong with that. That makes some people happy. I was lucky enough to have parents that provided for me growing up. Maybe my youth was enough for me where I don’t feel I need those things per say anymore.

I’m happy now making enough to keep a roof over my head even if my floor is the roof over someone else’s head. During winter I know that a space heater is gonna keep me and the dogs warm and the bills down and thats fine by me. I rarely buy new clothes and just keep recycling through the countless tshirts that adorn the one bookshelf that I use as a dresser.

A lot of people would not like to live the way I do. But it works for me, why? Because I do get to pursue my Quest. The Journey I somehow found myself on is to become a great Coach. I dont really care how great an athlete I am. I got over that awhile ago. My journey is to become the greatest Coach I can.

Honestly I had no intention of writing this article today. In fact as I write it I don’t even know if I’ll publish it. But I started OC as somewhere I had a voice. Somewhere along the line it became organic. The old Barbell Club became Old Country and that became the Iron Club and before I know it I have people reading this blog in the United Kingdom and Australia.

But my goal is still the same. I personally am on a Journey. I want to seek out the best and become the best. I’ve been blessed in my time to find some of the best. I have a Coach that taught me something years ago that he now trusts me to teach others. I never would have thought I’d be a teacher in this way. But thats what my job is, I teach others. Thats the path I’ve set myself on. I have even traveled to Russia to better myself, my parents thought I was FUCKING crazy when I did that. They thought I was crazy when I walked away from my original career path too, but my journey was ment for something else.

My Quest is to be a Coach, one of the best. Come this May and even this saturday many associated with the Club will get to meet goals that they have established for themselves. Maybe your journey is simple. Win this Meet, achieve this Rank, top ten in this, top three in that.

No ones goals or Quests are too small or stupid. Why? because they are important to them. And in the end thats all that really matters. Material things come and go, they don’t make who you are. The promises you make yourself are what matter.

I set myself down a road that I will follow. Hills and valleys aside its my road to travel. Where it will take me in life I can’t really say but I know the end goal. I just hope my next stop will be as unexpected as the others, and if I find myself in a place like this that it’s Steve making the Sushi.

If this article chapped your ass anyway, good. You should probably lighten up and go read something else. But if it helped at all then like they say in Eternia…
Good Journey

Posted by: Z

10 Responses to ““Chapter Four…””

  1. jodiboates Says:

    if you coach from your heart life will take care of you and all you ever need.

    thank-you for sharing your gift of being a great coach

  2. You are a great coach! We all appreciate you πŸ™‚

  3. There have only been two people in my life who have earned the right and the respect to be called “Coach”. Both were not only brilliant, but they knew that what they did made a real difference – and changed folks in ways that really did make them both better athletes and better people.

    Oddly, they both were much better coaches and leaders than I think even they realized at the time. The people they worked with, however, never doubted – not for a moment.

    So, thanks Coach – and keep up what’s clearly your calling!

  4. Destiny Says:

    Z, you are an amazing Coach.

    Despite my hippie name, I’m not a big believer in fate; I think most of what we live is what we make happen. That said, I feel incredible luck, with maybe a touch a fate, to have happened upon this gym with *you* at the helm. I don’t know that anyone else could have taught me all that you have. Thank you!

  5. Eric took the words out of my mouth. You have found your calling in life and that in and of itself is a tremendous gift.

    It’s pretty sweet when you get to spend your days doing something you love.

    Thanks, Coach!

  6. Outside of repeating what Eric and Destiny have written, I can only add a couple of quotes from Emerson that strike me as being appropriate for my own sentiments toward this piece.

    β€œDo not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”
    ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

    β€œWhat you do speaks so loudly that I cannot hear what you say.”
    ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Thank you, coach.

  7. I am with everyone else Z

    I feel pretty lucky because I have been learning from one of the best! You are an amazing coach and I am blessed to have you as my coach and my mentor. I’ve come so far since I first walked in the gym not only athletically but you have helped me on a path where I get to love what I do every single day.

    I tell you all of the time, but I can’t thank you enough for everything that you do for me/all of us

  8. Did you know that before i came to the Program I had never been able to consistently exercise (since high school sports)? No plan, no routine, no gym, nothing could keep me interested enough. YOU are what hooked me into this thing, and I love ya for it.

  9. Like Katie, prior to coming to the gym I could never consistently stick with any exercize program. Now, I look forward to coming to the gym and feel awful if I can’t make it. You are what makes this gym so great and it would not be the same without you. You are a true coach and are able to bring out what seems like the impossible in people. I am always thankful to have walked into this gym and found you for a coach. You have truly found your calling. Thanks coach!

  10. Both you and Roo have changed my life. For that I am grateful.

    Your dedication to coaching (both of you!) is unquestionable – I have driven by the gym late at night on a Friday (around 9pm…yes, this is late for me) and seen you two in there working on programs. Also – The videos are something I look forward to and always enjoy.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

