“Harry’ll do it. I know it. He Doesn’t know how to Fail…”

Today’s title post is something I guess Harry Stamper and I have in common.

I have notoriously dragged relationships and jobs out in the past that I should have called quit long before they ended, but I didn’t. Why? Because I hate failing. I don’t let myself consider it an option. As I’ve grown I’ve learned that the way I try to keep from failing is to take on as much responsibility as possible. If I’m in charge I know someone else isn’t gonna mess it up.

I’ve gotten to the point where when people talk to me about things I just smile and humor them cause I know I won’t except whatever “Help” they may want to offer.

Back when the Club first started I had no idea it’d ever get to where it is now. People I don’t know following our program, folks in other countries rockin our gear and an In-House Competition Team that I’m very proud to Coach. The Comp Team is a huge source of pride to the I/C. For those that really go out there and represent for the Red, Black and Grey its pretty consuming. Training, Eating, Recovering, Trying to WORK a regular job.

Let’s be real here, there isn’t too much money in the different arenas the I/C goes to war in.  And let’s be honest Crossfit Competitions along with Kettlebell and Lifting Meets aren’t exactly cheap. And they never seem to be all that close for the most part. Travel, lodging, etc, etc, etc…

Well I take my role as Coach very seriously and with what little I make from OC merchandise sales I try and help out. When I saw what the cost could be for my Team to take off work and Compete in next weekends Crossfit NorthWest Regionals I wanted to help. Like I said I don’t know how to fail, I was gonna find a way. We did a Shirt Sale which was a big hit, but in the grand scheme was really just a small dent and then it happened.

I got an offer from someone to help out.

What’d I do?

Well it’s simple I stonewalled and stalled because I flat out didn’t know what to do with the offer for help. I’m not use to accepting help, makes me feel like I’m not working hard enough myself. But then I had it told straight to me.

“I’m really not use to accepting Help Deb.”

“Well you’re just gonna accept it and say thank you.”
I guess sometimes someone telling you how it is is really all it takes.

What Deb was talking about was Donna Bevan-Lee’s offer to sponsor the Competition Team at next weekends Crossfit NorthWest Regionals. I’m just not use to people following through when they offer to help, so when I was told to accept it and just say thank you, I did just that.

Donna runs The Legacy Center in West Seattle. She has also always been active in helping sponsor local Teams and charities in the area. Donna’s son James has been an athlete of mine for nearly 3 years. In that time I’ve been lucky enough to see him graduate from both college and the Coast Guard Academy. More than anything I’ve seen James grow, and I’m proud of how much he’s grown.

So again when he came to me in the his classic James manner with, “My Mom wants to help sponsor the Team.” I didn’t know what to say. I still don’t really know what to say, so I’ll say this.

Thank you Donna.

My first Crossfit Competition was 5 years ago, it was 30 bucks to enter and was held in a park in Portland. I didn’t know at that time someday I’d be dragging a group of people including your son all over the State, Coast, Country and over the Border to do what we love. And because of your help it makes it a little easier to  do just that.

And thank you for helping me realize accepting help isn’t always a bad thing.

Myself and the rest of the Club hope to do you proud this weekend.

Posted by: Z

8 Responses to ““Harry’ll do it. I know it. He Doesn’t know how to Fail…””

  1. I love how the Club members and supporters rally for one another….this is another example of that.

  2. Awesome.

  3. Rhiannon Says:

    It is a sign of growth and wisdom to look beyond yourself, acknowledge that we all have limitations, and accept help for the greater good of the cause. People want to help, it makes them feel good. Especially when they believe in the cause.

    It is awesome that someone saw, believed, and put a hand out. Good for you for holding on tight and saying thank you. I guarantee it won’t be the last time.

  4. makeandtakes Says:

    That’s awesome. Good luck to everyone this weekend!!

  5. big thanks to everyone for your support

    and a special big thanks to Donna! i can’t really express how grateful i am for the donation you made! thank you so much! it really means a lot to us!!!

  6. From one mother to another, thank you, Donna, for your generous support and demostrated belief in our sons and their amazing OCIC teammates.

  7. Michelle B Says:

    That’s really amazing.
    Donna and Zach are very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

