“Irene…”

Two years ago a Team I was part of represented the Club at the first NorthWest Regionals that actually had a Team qualifier. The Team was  raw, very Raw, and some  on it had little to NO competitive Crossfit experience. That crew was also the first time I started CC programing on anyone outside a few individuals that I trained or shared a bloodline with.

That Team was a big turning point for me as a Coach.

That Team has trained with me every since. Again this coming weekend all six of those individuals will take the floor to represent the Red, Black and Grey. Five from that Team qualified inside the top 30 in our Regional Open this year. The other is the strength anchor for our ladies on this weekends Team.

Those athletes are what I like to in my head refer to as my RedNose Original.
Without them there wouldn’t be a Team this year, there wouldn’t be a Program followed by others outside the walls of our home gym. I owe them a lot, more then they know.

But this weekend isn’t only just about them. Its not about the 6 person Team we have going or the 5 Individuals we have representing. It’s about the Club, the Club is the community, its our Colors, its what we fight and brawl for. We do it to make those that support us proud. We’d just be competitors if it wasn’t for all of you, you make us Real Athletes.

It’s tradition to post a video or something on friday for those about to compete. But instead I’ve decided to allow you all the chance to wish those competing luck today if you can’t make it this weekend. Fridays post we’ll be a message board where Nickay will tirelessly try to Coach and keep you all updated at the same time.

As far as addressing the Team with word of encouragement or a public rant about putting boots to asses I figured I’d step out of my usual type cast role and simple say this.

Good Luck…

Posted by: Z

10 Responses to ““Irene…””

  1. MattCroft Says:

    Good luck everyone!!! This is one of my all time favorite scenes from a movie and one of my favorite movies too. Well played. There is something about helicopters that makes me feel funny in my tummy, like when I used to climb the rope in gym class.

  2. Hey RedNose team: This weekend is your moment to shine. I was telling some friends that there’s no better way to gain respect for someone than to do the same workout as them, know how difficult it is, and have them double, even triple your score. We’ve all seen it happen at the gym and I got to witness it during the open. You guys are so strong, mentally and physically. So get out there and show the region what you got!

  3. Do you best and remember why you are there. You will always have this memory – of testing your personal limits – and experiencing true teamwork – no matter what the outcome this weekend. I am so very proud of each and every one of you!

    “What we do in life echoes in eternity.” Maximus

  4. It’s been a pleasure to compete and train with everyone of you. Seize the chance to exceed your own expectations this weekend and know that your training has you prepared to do so.

    I’ll be watching via facebook, games site and what ever other media I can find.

    Get some.

  5. Destiny Says:

    You guys are all amazing and inspiring. You will shine this weekend; I know it. And we’ll be there to cheer you on – even when you don’t see us, even when you don’t hear us – we’ll be there.

  6. You guys are awesome and inspiring! Your hard work and dedication will pay off this weekend. I look forward to cheering you on this weekend. We are behind you all the way and will be cheering loudly!

  7. No luck needed, go kick some fukin ass!

  8. I know you all will give it your everything out there this weekend. There’s no other group of people who are best to represent the Red, Black, and Grey on that floor. Kick some ass, and can’t wait to witness greatness!

  9. makeandtakes Says:

    Woot Woot!! Give em’ hell!

  10. Cindy C Says:

    I know I am echoing everyone here- but get out there and do what you do; we are all most proud and constantly inspired. Thank you all for sharing your journey

Leave a Reply

